Board of Governors

Board of Governors 2018-2019
(effective July 1, 2018)

The Board and its membership have three core responsibilities:

  • To preserve the Vision, Mission and Values of the School and to ensure that all aspects of the School arise from them through sound policy governance;
  • To ensure financial planning and management which focuses on, protects and helps create SJR’s future; and
  • To support, evaluate, and nurture the Head of School.


Ms. Rose Sawatzky
Executive Assistant to the Head of School/Admin. Services Manager

Board Chair

Mr. Greg Fettes '95


Mr. Greg Fettes ’95 - Board Chair
Mr. Daniel Wright ’95 - Vice-Chair
Mrs. Sue Cunningham - Honorary Treasurer
Mr. Dennis Stewner - Executive Secretary

Board Members

Dr. Tracie Afifi
Dr. Rakesh Arora
Mr. Hardev Bains ’81
Mrs. Sue Cunningham
Mr. Tom DeNardi
Dr. Stan Eng
Dr. Greg Harding ’91
Mr. Mitul Kotecha ’95
Mr. Gregg Maidment  
Dr. Renee Phipps-Owusu
Mr. Gordon Pollard
Mrs. Leney Richardson
Mr. Trevor Sprague ’90
Mr. Dennis Stewner
Mr. Andrew Thompson ’87
Mr. Daniel Wright ’95

Ex Officio

Mr. Trevor Clay '01 - SJRAA Representative
Mrs. Rishona Hyman - SJRPA Representative
Mr. Ross Dunlop - SJR Foundation Board Chair
Mr. Jim Keefe - Head of School

St. John's-Ravenscourt

400 South Drive
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
SJR is proud to be accredited and affiliated with several local, national and international educational organizations.
St. John’s-Ravenscourt School was founded in 1820 principally to serve the children of the Selkirk settlers. By 1834 there were forty students, evenly split between boys and girls. SJR has inevitably grown and changed over the years since, though its success throughout has been unimpeachable. We have graduated 18 Rhodes scholars, for example, and Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II granted patronage and established a scholarship in her name in 1981. Today the programs are as strong as our reputation. A strong academic program is paired with an equally strong attention to the values of stewardship, ethical leadership, and excellence in all areas of academic, social and athletic life.